Our Vision

Providing effecient and effective public service in Valikamam West division.
Our Mission
To improve regional development and living standard of the people by providing excellent public service through optimum level utilization of resources.
History of Chankanai  Divisional Secretariat

Valikamam West Divisional Secretariat Division is one of the 15 Divisions of Jaffna District and whose Electoral No is 10 Jaffna. This Division was consisted of 9 Grama Servaga Divisions, which was increased to 15 Divisions and finally to 25 Grama Savaga Divisions. Vali West Pradeshiya Sabha area is divided into four sub units namely Chulipuram, Vaddukkoddai, Chankanai and Araly. This division covers an area of 47.3 Sq km and lying at the extreme West of Jaffna Peninsula. The boundaries on the North East and East are Valikamam South West   Divisional Secretary Division, on the North West and North are the Indian Ocean (Palk Straight) and on the South is Jaffna Lagoon. Valikamam West division is 3 meters high from the sea level.

Valikamam West Division Map

Role performed at DS From 1975

Name From To
Mr.K.Arunasalam 1975 1978
Mr.M.Subramaniyam 1978 1979
Mr.S.Senthilvadivel 1980 1984
Mr.T.Vaithilingam 1984 1992
Miss.Rubini Kanagaratnam 1992 1993
Mr.L.Elankovan 1993 1993
Mr.K.Santhirarajah 1994 2000
Mrs.P.Thilaganayagampaul 2000 2000
Mr.N.Vethanayahan 2000 2000
Dr.K.Karunarajah 2001 2001


Mrs.T.Babu 2006  2011
Mr.A.Sothinathan 2012 2017
Mrs.Premini Ponnampalam 2017 Up to  Now
Scroll To Top